Great Escape


It has to be the sunniest day of the year so far up in Northern England, which has inspired me to ramble about the good ol’ sunshine.

It’s one of those days where you want to crack out your sunnies and wear flip-flops and shorts, until you get outside and realise it’s bitterly cold and still very much winter. You want to walk around in your minimal ‘I’m a student- can’t you tell?!’ style clothes, that make you like Kate Moss at Glastonbury.

It is one of those picturesque days that I’m sure everyone imagined before they joined uni, where they believed they would all be siting around with course friends, reading poetry in the park, enjoying the sunshine and the banter from those around you. A day where someone just happens to perfectly capture the mood of students living the good life.

That’s exactly what I thought uni would be like, however the sub-zero temperatures, the lack of nearby parks, and with most of my course friends commuting everyday, has failed to make it a reality. Eh, at least I have the weather on side… kind of.

It cannot be argued that England hasn’t got some stunning landscape, so I decided to venture up to the Peak District, where the temperatures are even lower, but the scenery is even more breathtaking.

 

Days like this have me giddy with excitement at the thought of summer, holidays, factor 50 sun cream (pale and ginger= bad combo for the “english rose”), swimming and endless amounts of time to read as much as your heart desires!

So I’ve managed to find time in my crazy, mental, seriously busy, student schedule to come up with my plans for this summer:

Holiday to the Algarve- Booked.

Hiking in the Dolomites- Booked.

All that is left to do is persuade someone to take me here:

Plitvice Lakes

The Plitvice Lakes, Croatia.

I want to relax by the gorgeous blue waterfalls, walk through the parks, pretend my name is William Wordsworth and escape reality for a few days.

I also need to persuade a few people to come along to this glorious festival:

Benicassim Festival

Benicassim music festival! I have never been but I am SO desperate to go. I want to party in the sunshine, camp on the beach, listen to some of the best music in the world, surrounded by some awesome people.

If someone wants to take me, I will be more than happy to let you.

Roll on summer 2011.

About KG

Mumblings of a final year student looking to get fit, eat well, study hard and still enjoy the finer things in life. View all posts by KG

Leave a Reply

